Yes, this is the headline of the Philippine Daily Inquirer Today
Since the advent of my bumming in our school library and in my parents’ office library, I have been always fascinated with covers and front pages of various local and international...

Yes, this is the headline of the Philippine Daily Inquirer Today

Since the advent of my bumming in our school library and in my parents’ office library, I have been always fascinated with covers and front pages of various local and international broadsheets and magazines. In fact, it is my daily habit before starting a day’s work to browse and to look at various front pages and covers whether it be in print or in digital format. I consider it as an exceptional art and as a part of history as well. (See my blog’s archive for some of my articles written in the past regarding that matter).

One of my favorite websites is that of the Philippine Daily Inquirer which has been my favorite broadsheet since those bumming days in the library. But it is no secret here in my blog that I have a love-hate relationship with that broadsheet. Though I have repeatedly praised some of their creative front pages (like the false cover and the bloodied cover for the Philippine Independence Day celebration), I have also criticized (if not make fun of) some of them. to name a few, there was the juxtaposition failure, their tabloid-esque layout, and the headline that’s more appropriate in the entertainment section.

Earlier this morning, I woke up to the sad news about the Boston marathon bombing. While reading articles from foreign news outfits (like the Associated Press, Hufftington Post, and The Atlantic), I decided to pay a visit on some of our local news websites to double-check the facts and figures and at the same time, to check their banner stories for today. Lo and behold! It’s our favorite Presidential sister headlining today’s issue of the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

I have nothing against Kris Aquino being the top tax payer. I have nothing against Kris Aquino being Kris Aquino. In fact, just like Lourd De Veyra who has repeatedly wrote about her on his This is a Crazy Planets column on Spot.PH, I have also repeatedly wrote (satirical piece and praise) about her (with this being my all-time favorite). What moved my palm into my face was the fact that she conquered the front page and that she and her multi-million tax is today’s banner story for the respected broadsheet.

But of course, I have nothing against the story showcasing this country’s top taxpayers. As what every students in College learned in their taxation class, taxes are the blood that supports and gives life to a country. We need taxes. We need efficient tax collection. We need to penalize those who do not declare their taxes correctly and those who do not pay them. But unfortunately, with our favorite Presidential sister being this country’s top taxpayer, we also need to know that fact. Or do we really need to? Have we had enough of her life and her stories? Is it necessary for the Philippine Daily Inquirer to shove her story in our faces?

But maybe, just maybe, it was a slow news day yesterday and the biggest story (at least, based on their discretion), is Kris Aquino’s. I have seen this story being repeatedly tweeted yesterday but I did not expect it to land into the Inquirer’s banner story. Well, with their history of previous facepalm-inducing front pages, I was not completely surprised.

_____________

Enough of my disappointment. I miss doing this in my blog so let me do this once again - dissecting and giving the items on the front page a bit of scrutiny, sarcasm, and humor. Here we go:

  • NKKLK! - According to the news, Kris Aquino, with her three television shows and tons of product endorsements, paid almost 50 million pesos in taxes in 2011. Aside from me, who among you thinks that you can earn that amount until your retirement? Why not? Explain using the BIR form no. 1700.
  • “Daang Maalog" - Yesterday, President Aquino rode the locally-developed monorail at UP Diliman for a test run. He described the ride as "bumpy” and the tracks “wavy”. And according to the resident trolls, er, readers (who leave their comments via Disqus) of the the Inquirer’s website, that ride perfectly describes this administration’s “Daang Matuwid”. Boom!
  • Beauty. And brains. - I failed to catch last Sunday’s Binibining Pilipinas Gold (because I was busy watching the Jose and Wally concert on the other channel). But do you know what’s more gold? Twitterverse. And the tweets, comments, and reactions on the pageant, the hosts, and the contestants. Twitterverse was so awesome the pageant itself became so boring. Anyway, congratulations to the winners and to the aspiring beauty queens who are planning to join next year’s pageant, please don’t forget to bring Mongol pencil no. 2.
  • Practice what you Preach. - Pope Francis told Priests to practice what they preach. This news item has a special place in my heart. It is not a secret here in my blog that I almost became a Priest. But I was too awesome, er, badass so they have to send me out of the Seminary. (How badass? Let’s just say that I wrote this controversial piece entitled “Of Sacerdos and Politicos: A Comparison Between Priests and Politicians”. Read on!)
  • Smart Communications is the number one corporate taxpayer. I guess Globe Telecom, as usual, is having a problem with their network at the BIR Office.

_____________

It has been ages since I last wrote a decent blog entry. My work as a high school teacher - and the real world - drove me away from my love of writing and sharing my thoughts and a part of my crazy imagination here in my blog.

But I guess, I have had enough rest. It’s time to resurrect this blog and once again, share stories and opinion with the rest of the Tumblrverse and the interwebz. I hope I am still welcomed here in the blogging community.

Brace yourselves, it’s gonna be a fun ride.

Source: inquirer.net

Notes

  1. karenjoiefernandez-blog reblogged this from juanrepublic
  2. frustratedbloggerauthor reblogged this from juanrepublic
  3. keziah-ziah-blog reblogged this from juanrepublic and added:
    Utang na loob naman -_-
  4. blupppppppp reblogged this from juanrepublic
  5. geegraphy said: Of course, you’re still welcome. In fact, WELCOME BACK JUANREPUBLIC~! :)
  6. comeforthmyyoungpadawan-blog reblogged this from juanrepublic
  7. comeforthmyyoungpadawan-blog said: this is awesome.
  8. disastressed reblogged this from juanrepublic
  9. a-d-astra reblogged this from juanrepublic and added:
    Headlines. They could be a reflection of what society values (kung ano ang pinapahalagahan ng lipunan) or simply just...
  10. reginwww-blog reblogged this from juanrepublic and added:
    oh cmon. Kris Aquino again? enough with the aquinos. News about Pres. Aquino is enough. Really media? You have nothing...
  11. juanrepublic posted this

← Previous Post Next Post →

This is a personal blog where rants, raves, and everything in between is written and posted. About the Blogger: His name is Juan, a frustrated writer who hails from a sauna town at the foot of Mount Makiling. He spends his being an overworked and underpaid High School Teacher who is trying to make a difference, one post at a time.



Personal - Top Blogs Philippines


"Speak now or forever hold your peace.."
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...